© 2017 Buckinghamshire Lieutenancy.
 Proudly created with

Lieutenancy Office

County Hall



HP20 1UA

Tel: 01296 383622


National Honours

The Honours System offers public recognition to people in all walks of life and all sections of society who have given quite exceptional service and made a difference in their community or in the country. There are several different types of award, each one recognising a different type of contribution.

The British Honours System is one of the oldest in the world. It has evolved over 650 years and today recognises merit, gallantry and service. Honours lists are published twice a year at New Year and in mid-June, on the date of HM The Queen's Official Birthday.

Anyone can receive an award if they reach the required standard of merit or service, and honours lists include a variety of people from diverse backgrounds.

Make a Nomination

Do you know someone who deserves to be recognised for work they do in the community? Any member of the public may nominate someone for a National Honour - be it a colleague, volunteer, teacher etc.

There are many people across our County who work tirelessly in the community and who deserve to be recognised. The Lord-Lieutenant would like to encourage members of the public to put forward suitable nominations.

To support a nomination, it is essential to source and submit several strong letters of recommendation, from people who know at first hand about the work that has been done by the individual being nominated.

For further information, helpful guidance notes and a nomination form visit The Honours System webpage.

It is important to recognise that a nomination can take around 18 months or longer to go through the vetting process, from the point it is submitted to the Cabinet Office. The fact of nomination should be kept strictly confidential as sadly a relatively few people can be honoured and it is best to avoid disappointment. If a nomination proves unsuccessful, it is sometimes possible for the Lord-Lieutenant to arrange some other form of recognition, as a ‘thank you’ for exceptional service.

Recipients of all Honours except the BEM are invited to Buckingham Palace or Windsor Castle to receive their award. The Lord-Lieutenant presents the BEM honours on behalf of HM The Queen.

Awards for Buckinghamshire Residents

New Years Honours List 2019

OBE Dr Neil Bentley-Gockmann

OBE Mr Paul Linley

OBE Professor Lynette Joy Ryals

OBE Dr Richard Thompson
OBE Dr Josephine Anne Valentine
OBE Nicola Mary Louise Yates
MBE Mr Alan Robert William Marsh
MBE Mr Wain Douglas McIntosh
BEM Alison Rosemary Rae
BEM Joyce Rutter
BEM Mrs Jennifer Marie Woolveridge


Birthday Honours List 2019

KCVO Sir Henry Egerton Aubrey-Fletcher Bt JP 

CB      Frances Clare Nash
CBE   Dr Stephen Robert Billingham
CBE   Ronald Leslie Randall
CBE   David Lawton Roberts

OBE  Dr Julie Mary Mills

OBE   Professor Geraldine Anne Thomas
MBE  Keith Harrison Fowler
MBE  Judith Mary Harper

MBE  Philippa Jane Nightingale
MBE  Jacquelyn Anne Rason
MBE  Alexandra Jane Stanyer
BEM  Kevin Allan Beaumont
BEM  Trudie Jane Bird
BEM  Anne Elizabeth Bradshaw
BEM  Rhiannon Katherine Lawrence
BEM  Kathleen Margaret Martin
BEM  Graham Peart
BEM  Sean Richard Wheeler 

L-R: Mr Cornish BEM, Mrs Brooker BEM, HM Lord-Lieutenant, Lord-Lieutenant Cadet Sam, Mrs Rajawat BEM and Mr Ridgley BEM

Photo: Marion Mason Images