top of page
  • Writer's pictureLou Marron

The King's Award for Voluntary Service 2023

Every day, millions of people across the UK are making a difference by volunteering. Each year, outstanding examples of this work are celebrated through the King’s Award for Voluntary Service (KAVS).

Created in 2002 to celebrate Queen Elizabeth II’s Golden Jubilee and previously known as The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service (QAVS), the Award has been shining a light on the fantastic work of voluntary groups from all across the UK. Following his accession His Majesty The King emphasised his desire to continue the award. This is the first year recipients will receive The King’s Award for Voluntary Service (KAVS).

Equivalent to an MBE, KAVS is the highest Award given to local voluntary groups in the UK, and they are awarded in perpetuity.

Today, 8 Buckinghamshire organisations have been announced as recipients of the 2023 award.

They are;

They are among 262 charities, social enterprises and voluntary groups to receive the prestigious award this year. Their work, along with others from across the UK, reminds us of all the ways fantastic volunteers are contributing to their local communities and working to make life better for those around them.

Countess Howe, His Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire said:

“I am delighted that these eight groups have been recognised for their excellence in volunteering. They serve their communities with unwavering passion and commitment year in year out, giving truly transformational support to so many groups.

I warmly congratulate all the Award winners for their dedicated contribution to the fabric of our society”.

Recipients are announced annually on 14th November, The King’s Birthday.

Representatives of each Buckinghamshire organisation will receive the award crystal and certificate from Countess Howe, Lord-Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire. In addition, two volunteers from each organisation will attend a garden party at Buckingham Palace in May and June 2024, along with other recipients of this year’s Award.

127 views0 comments


bottom of page